The Start of Something Beautiful

Hi there internet! 😀

My name is Lana, and I’m so excited to start this blog! 🙂  I’m a 4th year Computer Science student with a psych minor (mostly social and cog). I love writing songs and poems. Grew up taking piano, then going through choirs, then went to an arts hs for vocal and then ended up doing comp sci in Uni. Who would have thunk it. If I ever did music as a job I think it would ruin it for me. Some things are just better as a hobby.

I’m unemployed right now and I really want to use this blog to sharpen my focus, both in my job hunting and just in how I live my life. Last year I put off job hunting till exams were over (just like this year :S) I couldn’t find a tech job but I really didn’t try hard enough. I think I’m nervous to do interviews. I love going to talks and conferences and I always have a lot of opinions on the talks I go to, but I never really speak up and talk to speakers after. A lot of people pester them after and I don’t want to be like that. If there are recruiters at a conference I’m always nervous to talk to them too. My lack of job experience def makes me nervous. I think that almost every comp sci student is under qualified for most jobs they start at though. You just have to learn while you’re there. You have to be smart and adaptable. To be frank I think that a lot of the time getting your foot in the door depends on how well you can bullshit what you already know though. I’ve definitely herd guys talking about things they didn’t really understand like they were pros at it. Whether it be security in general, cryptography, or some new technology the last company they were working at was developing. I feel like I’d make a valuable asset to any company and I need to start going harder at selling myself. I’ve got to really want it, because I have some amazing strengths. I’m really good at solving hard problems in assignments, I see things other people don’t, I have special usability testing skills from my psych degree, and a whole lot of knowledge on what motivates people from it that would be great in sales. I’m a big people person and I’m better at communication than a lot of the people in my degree.

This summer I’m gonna do things differently 🙂 No giving up on a tech job no losing focus and no minimum wage panic. Last year I worked two min wage jobs and had to turn away waitressing jobs I wanted later. I’m not paying rent, I have money saved up, and right now I need to look at the time that I’m unemployed as an opportunity to learn and do things that I don’t usually have time for, and get myself back in touch with my life’s purpose 🙂 This article was part of the kick in the pantshttp://lifestyle.ca.msn.com/real-life/inner-you/hearst-article.aspx?cp-documentid=22019389 “You never want a serious crisis to go to waste — and what I mean by that is an opportunity to do things you thought you could not do before.” quote from the article talking about people who are unemployed/laid off because of the depression. I’m taping that article to the inside of my closet 🙂 It’s got some great points.

I’ve lost touch a bit lately with my motivation/ life’s purpose and I’ve really got to rectify it. I really can’t wait to start my career. I like school but I don’t work as hard as I would if there were any immediate consequences for my work, and I really like it when I work hard and get a big hunk of code I can be proud of. In school no one’s going to see the work you do, or need it for anything, so I need to remind myself what all this is for.

So here’s my goals 🙂

1.Learn HTML and then PHP:

Every day starting tomorrow I’m going to devote three hours of my day entirely to this. Turning the msn off and putting the blackberry on silent! Lets see how fast I can do this 🙂 If the added skill doesn’t get me a job then maybe if I find my way around web dev with the help of some friends I could find some clients on my own 🙂 I think that after I’m comfortable with web dev I should keep learning ruby on rails (I started reading Ruby on Rails for dummies but never finished that project 😛 ) and also try to look into doing open source

2. Learn more about IT companies in Ottawa:

So this is partly for the job hunting and partly for my own education. Maybe there’s a company that really does something I connect with that I’ll want to hound until they let me work for them 🙂 I think I should look at at least one company a day now and try to research them and find out about their work environment and what they do. Another step for this is by at least this Friday I’m going to step into Code Factory with a few generic tech resumes and ask about startups that are looking for students to work for them. Or any other companies who use their space. Startups mostly don’t pay anything but I would work for free if the job really excited me or I really like the people, and it’s a good way to just learn about more companies.

3.Finish all the books that I’ve half read:

So I’m pretty ridiculous like this. I don’t know about you, but I have a hella short attention span when it comes to books. It wasn’t like this when I was younger, I’d eat books up, but now I just jump around like 5 of them, so I decided that I’m gonna do an hour of reading before bed every night and get some of these finished. First book Good to Great Making the leap. By Jim Collins. This book has been my favorite book in the world for like a year now and I still haven’t finished it, don’t ask me how. Gettin ‘er done. By the way, check it out. It’s a fascinating piece of research and compilation of business theories about what it takes to have a great company. Not good, but great. I think the standard in their research was great = companies that had at least 7 times the market value of their industry at the time. It’s not all numbers though it’s got a lot of valuable lessons about life, attitude and responsibility. I love that book 🙂

4. Get back in shape:

I think I’m probably in the worst shape I’ve been in since I started university, so I’m running two miles at least three times a week. Jogged/walked/ran my first 2 this morning. Took me 30 minutes which isn’t that bad but when I was in better shape I could do 3miles in that time so I think I’m going to make that my goal for the next couple weeks.

5.DELETE THE FB GAMES!!:

I wont have time to do any of these things if I spend too much time on FB and I need to cut down on outside stimulants if I want my focus and creative energy back. I’ve been spending way too much time on FB games all of last semester starting around midterms and it’s gotten pretty bad. Totally a symptom of me wanting more adventure/ achievements/ missions which I mean that’s why anyone plays any game. Now that I have real life goals set for myself to focus on I’m not going to waste any time on the virtual ones! You guys this is pretty big, I mean my Zoo in zoo-world is worth 600Mill …that’s very impressive in case you didn’t know lol ok so Deleting Zooworld, Treasure isle and happy island RIGHT NOW! ….THEY ARE DELETED! Yay purging 🙂 that felt good 🙂

6.Meditating / feeding  my creative energy

I just need to get myself in a clear focused creative head-space and I have the time and space to do that now. Now that all the FB games are gone and also half of my youtube subscriptions that were wasting my time that should help. I’m doing this webinar in a couple days too about increasing positive energy and releasing blocks on positive energy. There’s going to be a bunch of people meditating at the same time, so it sounds pretty cool. I’m also going to eat breakfast in silence now instead of watching recorded shows. No listening to music while I do stuff unless it’s The Beatles, James Taylor, or Jack Johnson. Don’t ask me why these three, I just think they’re mellow enough not to overstimulate me lol Also I’m going to talk about things I’m passionate about on here once every two days 🙂

7.Learn guitar:

Ok so a couple months ago I read one of my poems out loud for the first time at a coffeehouse at Carleton that a friend was helping to organize. It was such a rush!!! I was nervous as hell but it made me soo happy. I really miss singing and performing and I think if I could learn guitar and take some of the songs I’ve written and play them with it I could maybe work up the courage to do one of my songs at a coffee house 😀 You might think it’s weird that I’d have to work up the courage to sing in public after doing it so many times. It’s really different if it’s something you’ve written yourself though. You kinda feel naked. This one I’ll get around to whenever the Boy lends me his guitar 🙂

The poem is up on the Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) blog from when I was an officer for them: http://cuwise.blogspot.com/2009/08/mantra-of-amazing-woman.html

Rehearsing the poem really helped remind me of some important things I’d forgotten lately too ❤

8.Driver’s ED:

FINALLY!! :O I start taking drivers ed every Saturday in a couple of weeks 🙂

9. Don’t lose touch with friends while I do this 😛

I didn’t see my friends enough last summer so I want to make sure that doesn’t happen again. So this Friday I think I’m going to start by having lunch with my friend Rovic and I’m having a girl’s night/sleepover 🙂 If I’m in the city more it’ll help with this too. There’s a lot of ppl I’ve been meaning to grab lunch with so I might just start going in to town every morning 🙂

Well I’m off to bed because it’s 4:42am…my next goal should be to get to bed and wake up earlier. I promise that my posts will get more concise from here on out 😛 This entry was maybe more for me to help list my goals out 🙂 I find it’s nice though to hear about other people’s goals. It sometimes inspires you to reach your own.

Goodnight ❤ and Shalom 🙂

About geekinthepink87

Web developer. Comp sci major, psych minor. Love writing songs and poems. Passionate about tech industry, global dev, feminism, psychology and self help.
This entry was posted in Goals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Start of Something Beautiful

  1. Abhinav says:

    I think this is a great initiative!!! All the best with all your plans and show ’em all what you’re made of 😀

  2. Mike says:

    I agree with Abs!! Those are some good goals.

  3. In retrospect this was waaaayyy too many goals to set at once and fully commit to at once hahaha

Leave a Reply

