Feel Good Music

So a few days ago I was cleaning up my room when I stumbled upon a bunch of cassette tapes and thought I’d give them a listen. Among some of the things that made me smile were a recording of my old vocal teacher, teaching my HS friend her part of a duet we were learning. It was kind of a cat opera song where all the words were Meow. We loved that duet. That brought back some good memories of HS. I know I was a music nerd lol

Then I found a song I’d written in middle school, and recorded so that I could remember how it went. It was just so cute, my voice was really soft and quiet back then. The lyrics went like this “Do you really think that heaven sent her? You’ve been running on a broken lender. So go ahead return to sender, and make it good. Take all of this love I’m sending, and go work on your heaven pending, even if it’s broke and mending, ohohoh and make it good. Make it good.” The first part sounds a little confusing. It’s pretty much about a destructive relationship, broken lender would be his/her heart. It’s called Make it Good. It’s a couple of half finished verses but I thought it was sweet 🙂 Made me smile. 🙂 ❤

The other thing I found was a tape with a bunch of Paul Simon songs on it. I found that tape in our house, when I was little, and fell in love with the music 🙂 I just remember dancing in my room to my Paul Simon tape, bringing my tape player all around the house and listening to it all day 😛 Those songs are such feel good music for me :). Diamonds on the soles of her shoes, The myth of fingerprints, That was your mother, I know what I know, Graceland. I’ve stumbled on a lot of music, that makes me feel good lately so I thought I’d make another blog in my music category and list all the music here 😀

Ruslana: Dance with the wolvesAll these songs are a bit random lol I really like this woman. She’s Ukrainian but the dancing and themes in her music remind me of Greek…ness haha I love Greek dancing. I don’t know a lot about Greek history, and I don’t speak a lot of Greek, but I know a lot of my passion in life comes from my Greek blood, and every summer since I was a little girl when I dance at Greekfest in Ottawa the music and the dancing with the moon above everything, sets my heart on fire with joy…as cheese as I made that sound haha, that’s how I feel about it :). Her music is inspired by the traditions of the Hutsul people of the Carpathian Mountains. I found this song right after I had a crazy wolf dream. In the dream I was attacked by a wild wolf and then I became wild too and the wolf left me alone acknowledging me as one of it’s own. Makes the song special for me 🙂 I love empowering songs. 🙂

Kesha: Heart Fall OutI love the fact that Kesha grew up on music and food stamps, and lived in her car when she was trying to promote herself as an artist. If you don’t know her background look it up it’s a pretty cool story. I think her upbringing gives her a lack of pretentiousness that I find refreshing 🙂 “Don’t let your heart fall out, it’s the only thing you’ve got” Wise words, from someone who’s had nothing in this world but heart and knows it’s enough 🙂 That’s how I see it 🙂

Jo Dee Messina: I’m AlrightI broke up with my boyfriend a little bit ago, and I’ve been feeling down since then. Was a little low at work the other day and this song came on. Now I hum it whenever I feel sad and it cheers me up 🙂

Bless Beats ft. Remi Nicole, Wiley and Plug One: Let It Go

Rascal Flatts: Love is UnstopableHeard this in the tanning salon and had to look it up later 🙂 ❤ Love IS unstoppable! 😀

Pink: 18 WheelerOne of the 20 most played songs on my iPod. Great running song. Makes me feel invincible. Lets me run that extra half mile lol

Paul Simon: I know what I knowWOOP WOOP WOOP WOOP!! Hahaha 😀

Howard Huntsberry: Higher and HigherHad to watch Ghostbusters 1 and 2 before I played the video-game. Btw I’m disappointed with that game cuz even if you pick the female character the dialog doesn’t change, they call you he in the cut scenes. Sux. Love the statue of liberty scene in GB2 though 🙂 ❤ I can’t not dance when I hear this 😛

Marry J Blige: Just FineAnother one of the 20 most played on my iPod 🙂 This song just makes me feel amazing 🙂 I love it 🙂 God bless Marry J for making such good muzak ❤

About geekinthepink87

Web developer. Comp sci major, psych minor. Love writing songs and poems. Passionate about tech industry, global dev, feminism, psychology and self help.
This entry was posted in Music I Like and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

