Happy International Women’s Day :D + Good Quotes

So it’s IWD today 😀 and I was copying out all my quotes from my MSN space that I put there in HS, now that MSN is getting rid of their spaces, and there were a lot of feminist quotes and bits of feminist ideals in my old blog posts from when I was a teenager.

I really enjoyed reading them again so I thought I’d put some of them up here for Women’s Day 😀

First, I wanted to share a snippet of a blog I wrote, when I discovered Sinead O’Connor.

“Claim to fame: Sinead O’Connor is a Grammy Award winning singer/songwriter who rose to fame with her hit single ”Nothing Compares 2 U”. She continues to make music to this day.
She did what?!: In 1992, Sinead appeared on Saturday Night Live and took a political turn with her career. Not only did she change the lyrics to her Bob Marley cover of ”War” – she also presented an image of Pope John Paul II to the camera while singing the words ”evil”. She intended to protest against sexual abuse in the Roman Catholic Church through her lyrics and went as far as to tear up the picture of the Pope and said ”fight the real enemy”. This moment in television history is still considered one of the most controversial moment in music history.” (credit: Paul Natkin/WireImage)

Frigin amasing! Wow! She has balls! lol I love to see outspoken women!! This just makes my day 🙂

Nothing compares to you(her famous song):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rO8JWbG6bVw&feature=related

No Man’s Woman:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_JYj3N2XWNk&feature=related
I know it’s a little extreme but I still love it haha leave it up to my feminist brain :P, Especially the part at the start where she’s running from the churtch and then when she’s reborn and spining around with the guitar, and when she says “My friends think I’m alone, but I’ve got secrets. I don’t tell everything bout the love I get. I’ve got a loving man but he’s a spirit. He never does me harm never treats me bad. He never takes away all the love he has” (refrence to God.. I’m asuming lol). mm Beautifull 🙂 I love all the running lol makes me wanna go for a run 🙂
(8)I never wanna be no man’s woman! I only wanna be my own woman! I havn’t travelled this far to become, no man’s woman. No man’s woman, no man’s woman!(8)
I gotta get this onto my iPod lol

The blog reminds me of when I was just coming into my own and makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside seeing all of the influences I tried to soak up as that was happening. There are a lot of different song lyrics too on the blog like Put Your Records On and Suddenly I See, and different quotes like the ones bellow that really remind me of my passion and idealism in it’s more raw form from when I was younger 😀

Hope you enjoy these 🙂

FEMINIST QUOTES

“I have never been able to find out precisely what feminism is: I only know that people call me a feminist whenever I express sentiments that differentiate me from a doormat” -Rebecca West, 1913

“Independence is happiness.” -Susan B. Anthony

“Something which we think is impossible now is not impossible in another decade.” -Constance Baker Motley (First African American Woman to become a Federal Judge in the U.S.)

“For what is done or learned by one class of women becomes, by virtue of their common womanhood, the property of all women.”-Elizabeth Blackwell (The first woman in the U.S. to become a physician)

“The first problem for all of us, men and women, is not to learn, but to unlearn.” -Gloria Steinem

“People think at the end of the day that a man is the only answer [to fulfillment]. Actually a job is better for me.” -Princess Diana

“Don’t compromise yourself. You are all you’ve got.” -Janis Joplin

“Squint your eyes and look closer I’m not between you and your ambition I am a poster girl with no poster I am thirty-two flavors and then some and I’m beyond your peripheral vision so you might want to turn your head…” -Ani Difranco

“The day will come when men wil recognize woman as his peer, not only at the fireside, but in councils of the nation. Then, and not until then,wil there be the perfect comradeship,the ideal union between the sexes that shall result in the highest development of the race” -Susan B. Anthony

“In every girl is a goddess. ” -Francesca Lia Block

QUOTES

“For myself, I am an optimist – It does not seem to be much use being anything else.” -Winston Churchill

“People with many interests live, not only longest, but happiest.” -George Matthew Allen

“Live in each season as it passes; breathe the air, drink the drink, taste the fruit, and resign yourself to the influences of each.” -Henry David Thoreau

“Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better.” -Albert Einstein

“I am more and more convinced that our happiness or our unhappiness depends far more on the way we meet the events of life than on the nature of those events themselves.” -Karl Wilhelm Von Humboldt

“Never does a man portray his character more vividly than his proclaiming the character of another.”-W.Churchill

“Dreams are renewable. No matter what our age or condition, there are still untapped possibilities within us and new beauty waiting to be born.” -Dr. Dale E. Turner

“Arguments are to be avoided; they are always vulgar and often convincing. ” -Oscar Wilde

“Far away there in the sunshine are my highest aspirations. I may not reach them, but I can look up and see their beauty, believe in them, and try to follow where they lead.” -Louisa May Alcott

“It’s so clear that you have to cherish everyone. I think that’s what I get from these older black women, that every soul is to be cherished, that every flower is to bloom.” -Alice Walker

“To acquire love… fill yourself up with it until you become a magnet.” -Charles Haanel

“To some the idea of giving so much love to self will seem very cold hard and unmerciful. Still…may be seen in a different light,when we find that looking out for#1, as directed by the Infinite,…..is the only way2permanently benefit#2” -Prentice Mulford

“…the moment you decide that what you know is more important than what you’ve been taught to believe, you will have shifted gears in your quest for abundance. Success comes from within, not from without.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Take the first step in faith. You don’t have to see the whole staircase. Just take the first step.” -Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

“Many people who order their lives rightly in all other ways are kept in poverty by their lack of gratitude.” -Wallace Wattles

“Keep working hard and you can get anything that you want. If God gave you the talent, you should go for it. But don’t think it’s going to be easy. It’s hard!Always be true to yourself”-Aaliyah

“The heart that loves is forever young” -Greek Proverb, Greek ppl are smart *nods head* haha (I’m half Greek)

“The greatest threat to knowledge is not ignorance. The greatestthreat to knowledge is the illusion of knowledge.” -Unknown

“Let us not look back in anger, nor forward in fear, but around in awareness.” -James Thurber

“Your work is to discover your world and then with all your heart give yourself to it.” -Buddha

“Opportunities to find deeper powers within ourselves come whenlife seems most chalenging.” -Joseph Campbell

“In a universe of infinite dimensions, every point is the absolute center. You are such a point” -Hans Decoz

“We confide in our strength, without boasting of it; we respectthat of others, without fearing it.” -Thomas Jefferson 1793

“Improving our own attitudes and our own state of mind takes time. Haste and impatience can only defeat our purposes.” -from This is Al-Anon

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, “Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?” Actually, who are you not to be?”-Marianne Williamson

“Look at every path closely and deliberately. try it as many times as you think necessary. Then ask yourself, and yourself alone, one question…Does this path have a heart? If it does, the path is good; if it doesn’t it is of no use.” -Carlos Castaneda, The Teachings of Don Juan

“After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music. ” -Aldous Huxley

“I would love to live like a river flows, carried by the surprise of its own unfolding” -John O’ Donohue

“I always say, when the voice and the conviction on the inside becomes more profound, clear, and loud than the opinions on the outside, you’ve mastered your life!” -Dr. John Demartini

“If you are distressed by anything external, the pain is not due to the thing itself, but to your estimate of it; and this you have the power to revoke at any moment.” -Marcus Aurelius

“One way to get the most out of life is to look upon it as an adventure.” -William Feather

“Don’t ask yourself what the world needs; ask yourself what makes you come alive. And then go and do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” -Howard Thurman

About geekinthepink87

Web developer. Comp sci major, psych minor. Love writing songs and poems. Passionate about tech industry, global dev, feminism, psychology and self help.
This entry was posted in Feminism, Music I Like. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

